Rocky Mount averages at least one hit and run incident each day.
In December there were 34 Hit and Run accidents and Between January 1st and January 14th there have been 13.
A hit and run accident is classified as where you hit a person, property, or vehicle with your vehicle and leave the scene and do not report to police.
It is a crime and could result in jail time, license suspension, insurance points and fines.
North Carolina law requires all drivers to remain at the scene of an accident until police arrive.
A hit-and-run in North Carolina can either be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on how seriously the victim is injured.
Class 1 misdemeanor hit-and-run. A hit and run that results in property damage and/or minimal personal physical injury is Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 120 days in jail and a discretionary fine.
Class H felony hit-and-run: A hit and run that results in serious bodily injury or death is a Class H felony and is penalized by up to 25 months in prison, fines, and driver’s license suspension.
Class F felony hit-and-run: A hit and run involving serious bodily injury (substantial risk of death, permanent disfigurement or pain, or resulting in extended hospitalization) can receive a penalty of up to 41 months in jail, significant fines, and driver’s license suspension.
Hit and Run cases January 1st - January 14th
1/1 - 400 BLOCK OF ARRINGTON AVE
1/4 - 800 BLOCK OF N GRACE ST
1/4 - 100 BLOCK OF FOXHALL DR
1/5 - 1500 BLOCK OF BENVENUE RD
1/5 - 400 BLOCK OF US 64
1/6 - 1500 BLOCK OF BENVENUE RD
1/6 - 3100 BLOCK OF SUNSET AVE
1/7 - 900 BLOCK WEST RALEIGH BLVD
1/8 - 600 BLOCK OF TIFFANY BLVD
1/9 - 400 BLOCK OF HAMMOND ST
1/9 - 2500 BLOCK OF HUNTER HILL RD
1/12 - 7800 BLOCK OF HUNTER HILL RD
1/14 - 1900 BLOCK OF THOMAS BETTS PKWY
If you witness a Hit and Run accident contact Police and give a vehicle description and tag number if possible.